Under The Sea: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Foundation Wear and Review

I’ve loved watching makeup-related YouTube videos for as long as I can remember them even existing.  It started with Michelle Phan (yep, I remember her very first YouTube video – now look how far she’s come) and continued on through high school.  The one thing I struggled with the most was that I felt as though my skin was so different from everyone who showed their face online.  Most of the girls who shared their passion for cosmetics had seemingly flawless skin, and here I was with hyperpigmentation, serious acne, and horrible under-eye circles.  No matter how hard I searched, there wasn’t a YouTuber who I could identify with … until November of 2016.

I was searching through the depths of YouTube when I discovered Thataylaa – a beauty vlogger who titled herself a #PalePrincess.  Not only was her skin tone the same as mine, but she was very bold about her struggle with cystic acne.  Finally I found someone who I could rely on for any cosmetic product out there.  One of my favorite things about Taylor is that every Friday she uploads a “Foundation Friday” video where she shares a foundation that she’s never tried, gives a wear-test, and a final review at the end of the day.  One of her top suggestions for 2016 was the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea foundation, so obviously I had to try it!

In my video, I did something very similar to Taylor – I showed the application of foundation, gave check-ins throughout the day, and ended it with a short review.  Here’s what I think after nearly a week of wear: the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea foundation retails at $39 for 1 fl oz and has a very dewy, light finish.  I have to apply several pumps of product for a full-coverage, flawless finish.  The product is so lightweight, you wouldn’t even know you’re wearing makeup – which I love.  The lightest shade, Porcelain, is a perfect match for my skin tone.  The foundation wears beautifully throughout the day with a light dusting of powder.  I do find that by about hour six or seven of wear, it begins to break down around my chin and forehead (in between my eyebrows), and there is creasing around my mouth from smiling and talking.  If you’re willing to apply powder once more, you can increase the lifespan to about ten hours and still feel flawless.  It washes off super easily, and I have only seen positive results with my skin.  My acne has not flared up, and my skin feels smooth and moisturized.  I’ve been overall incredibly pleased with this foundation.  Would I purchase again?  During the winter, absolutely.  For the summer?  Probably not.  It’s great for those with dry skin, but definitely showcases the oil for those who have combination/oily skin.  Summer humidity and sweat would not love this product, and it’s far from waterproof.  However, it’s one of the most natural-looking foundations I’ve ever used, and for that, I will definitely give it two thumbs up!

Have you ever tried the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea foundation?  Let me know your thoughts, and make sure to give a thumbs up and subscribe to my channel for new videos each Monday!

Under The Sea: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Foundation Wear and Review

Shop What’s On My Face

primer | foundation | under-eye concealer | face concealer | powder | bronzer | blush | eyeshadow | kohl eyeliner | liquid eyeliner | mascara | liquid lipstick | setting spray

Follow:
Share:

43 Comments

  1. March 13, 2017 / 12:24 AM

    Love the review on the foundation. My skin is currently dry so maybe I should give it a try since you did not feel it was bad for acne prone skin. And then l will lay off when it starts getting hot as to not cause more breakouts. Your skin looks great !
    xx, gracie
    snappedbygracie.com

  2. March 13, 2017 / 1:37 AM

    that tarte foundation looks amazing! I have been using my Chanel foundation for years so haven’t really had the chance to really branch out and try something new (especially since the one I currently use works well) but I will definitely have to give this one a shot seeing as how it works so well for you! your skin looks incredible babe xo, sharon

    http://www.stylelullaby.com/travel/spg-credit-card-american-express/

  3. Kelssey Layton
    March 13, 2017 / 10:31 AM

    I actually haven’t tried any Tarte products but because it sounds like I have similar skin to yours- I need to try this now! Such a great video girl!

  4. March 13, 2017 / 10:36 AM

    I love the packaging and all of tarte products! I like that their foundation isn’t too heavy and it’s buildable. Thanks for sharing your tutorial 🙂

  5. March 13, 2017 / 10:56 AM

    My skin has been soooo dry this past winter! It sounds like an amazing product and your skin looks flawless, great video!

    xo ,Sara

  6. Anna English
    March 13, 2017 / 11:31 AM

    It’s been awhile since I’ve used any Tarte products, but this makes me want to give it a try!

  7. March 13, 2017 / 1:15 PM

    I love make up review videos! I am always interested in finding products that do not dry my face out, so maybe I will check it out 😛 Your skin looks amazing!

    Xx,

    Lauren

  8. March 13, 2017 / 3:06 PM

    I have heard only amazing things about this foundation. Temptalia raves about it being one of her favorites. Can you believe I still haven’t tried it? Looks like I need to now!

    http://www.thebeautybeau.com/

  9. Stacey
    March 13, 2017 / 6:38 PM

    I’m not usually a foundation girl, but your video makes me want to try it! Plus, I love Tarte.

  10. March 14, 2017 / 2:28 AM

    I really enjoyed your review! I personally don’t wear foundation so I can’t relate.
    Now i’ve been hearing a lot about water based foundations but does it really work. I saw that they give you some coverage but how does it differ from a BB or a cc cream?

  11. March 14, 2017 / 7:41 AM

    This foundation looks amazing! And it looks amazing on you! There is nothing better than finding the right make up!

    Maggie @ Polished Closets

  12. March 14, 2017 / 9:43 AM

    Loved your video! Thanks for sharing an honey review. I love Tarte product but haven’t tried this foundation yet! It looks great on you!

  13. March 14, 2017 / 11:06 AM

    This is my first time hearing of this brand, and I definitely like the packaging! watching the video, it does look like the perfect skin tone match for you! I also have pale skin, and while most people don’t believe me, I had serious acne problems a few years back, and still have the scars and also hyper pigmentation. Since we do share some of the same skin issues, maybe I’ll give this foundation a try 🙂
    http://www.samanthamariko.com

  14. Nataly
    March 14, 2017 / 11:45 AM

    Great review! I have been wanting to try this foundation for a while now! I have super pale skin too, so I think I will have to give this a shot. Thank you for sharing this wonderful review! xo, Nataly

  15. March 14, 2017 / 1:48 PM

    Watched the whole video hehe it is a fun review! I don’t wear foundation on a daily basis so I only use my Dior sample ( yeah still got the sample ) and concealer but I feel like to give a try to more foundations. Thanks for sharing!

    xo, Josie
    http://www.petiteandbold.com

  16. March 14, 2017 / 7:54 PM

    I have only used the tarte powder foundation, but I really prefer liquid ones since moving to a dry climate really calls for more moisture. I currently go back and forth between the Maybelline liquid foundation and Chanel, but looking for new ones to try! This sounds great. I’ll have to check Sephora for a sample.

    Xo,
    Miki
    http://mikialamode.com

  17. March 14, 2017 / 10:55 PM

    I’ve actually never tried tarte proucts, I need one that stays on better all day, I love that you showed it throughout the day!

  18. March 14, 2017 / 11:31 PM

    I only have one tarte product that I got from an ipsy bag LOL but I’ve heard great things! I’m actually in need for a new foundation so this post is perf!! I loved the video 🙂 I’ve been using tinted moisturizer because the winter has seriously got me dried as a prune so I’m glad this doesn’t dry your face up !! Def will give it a go 🙂

    With love,
    Jenn
    https://www.jubilantdose.com

  19. March 15, 2017 / 12:25 AM

    oh wow! great review! i definitely want to try this foundation now!

  20. March 15, 2017 / 6:22 AM

    I love tarte products and this foundations looks great!
    Will love to try this. You manage your videos to look so fun 🙂

    xoxo
    Marcy

  21. March 15, 2017 / 7:38 AM

    I really love your videos and even though I’m not a junkie of makeup tutorials, I love it when you do them as I trust your judgement and I really need help with the basics all from primers to foundations and I find your videos so helpful! So thanks for a great video and tips on a great foundation. 🙂
    xoxo
    Thomas

    http://thomasfalkenstedt.com

  22. March 15, 2017 / 8:20 AM

    I have and love this foundation as well! But like you said, it does start to separate and breakdown throughout the day. So I usually only use it on days when I don’t need full coverage

    -Morgan
    How 2 Wear It [] http://how2wearit.com

  23. Mollie
    March 15, 2017 / 8:56 AM

    I’ve never tried Tarte products before, but I like that its lightweight! Right now I just wear a tinted SPF moisturizer but I’ll have to check this out for days when I need more coverage!

    Xx Mollie

  24. March 15, 2017 / 10:47 AM

    I have Tarte’s Rainforest of the Sea concealer and have tried their shiny lip balm in Sephora. Both I love! They’re concealer is great for under the eyes and doesn’t cake plus, it’s small enough to carry in my makeup bag if I need to retouch at all through out the day. I was thinking about their foundation but wasn’t sure. I have combination skin so I’ll probably pass on the foundation. I’m glad I came across your review and saved myself a couple of bucks!

    xo, Jo
    http://www.cutandchic.com

  25. March 15, 2017 / 2:43 PM

    I have not heard of Thataylaa, but I’m always down to check out a new beauty vlogger. I’ve heard such great things about the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea foundation! I’ve tried out all their skincare products and I’m obsessed! This collection is just too good. I’m liking the check in’s that you are doing, so you should keep doing them 🙂

    xoxo Bryanna | Coming in Clutch

  26. March 15, 2017 / 9:54 PM

    i hadn’t even heard of this line before i watched the video… love this Tarte collection!!!!

  27. Ruthie
    March 16, 2017 / 11:37 AM

    Loved the honest review!! This makeup looks amazing on you! I have a lot of similar skin issues!!! I’ll have to give this brand a try. Xx

  28. March 17, 2017 / 1:26 AM

    Have you tried their black liquid eyeliner? It’s the easiest one I’ve found to make the classic cat eye. I’m definitely going to look into the foundation now. I have similar skin problems that you’ve described. Thanks for the tip!

    xx Yasmin
    http://banglesandbungalows.com

  29. March 17, 2017 / 9:05 PM

    It can be so hard to find a foundation that perfectly matches my skin tone. I am so glad that you found one that you love!! Ever since I found the foundation that works for my skin tone, it makes getting ready so much quicker!

  30. March 19, 2017 / 8:15 PM

    You are so funny and beautiful, these are amazing products. I have to look into them, thanks for sharing.

  31. March 20, 2017 / 1:19 AM

    Omg, I hear you girl! I struggle w cystic and adult acne too… I sometimes wonder if it’s from messing up my hormones when struggling w my eating distorter 🙁 I love hearing about great new foundations tho, so I’m excited to hear about this! I’m currently truing and loving the new Givenchy Power Fabric Foundation, as it has GREAT coverage and wears well, but I need to try this next! I love Tarte!

  32. March 20, 2017 / 11:17 PM

    I need to check this stuff out!

    xo,
    Britt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *